Photo Gallery Indexing
Sport Clubs Index
Huthwaite Boxing Clubs
Huthwaite Cricket Clubs
Huthwaite CWS CC
Football Team Groups
Huthwaite Football Club
Huthwaite United FC
Huthwaite Villa FC
Huthwaite Albion FC
Huthwaite C.W.S. FC
Huthwaite Park Rangers
Junior School Teams
John Davis School FC
Huthwaite Colts FC

Photo Gallery

Huthwaite Villa FC

Huthwaite Villa debuted in lower Division three of a Sutton and Skegby Football League in 1932. A season that reportedly resulted in the club winning three trophies setting a magnificent Huthwaite record.

Photographs commemorating their success includes League officials such as the chairman Mr B Lee. A Mr J Bowler acted as trainer, while role of club secretary was successfully taken by a John G Barnes. Shown fronting their headquarters at the White Swan, is where William Cook hosted a dinner catering for 60 all witnessing presentation of medals. His link with the club presumes player Billy Cook must be his son.

Another proud father witnessed the occasion when the Villa team included his three sons named Johnny, Leslie and George. Referring to himself as "the old bird", the senior George Reeves had similarly begun playing in Hucknall Huthwaite before carving a professional footballing career at highest national level. An inspiring standard for sons to achieve when George junior here ended up the leagues highest goal scorer.

1933 Huthwaite Villa FC1933 John Barnes - Bob Williams - Arthur Palethorpe - Fred Glen Brooks - Leonard Smith - J (Trapper) Bowler
William Cook - Wilfred Griffiths - Arthur Buxton - Bill Collins - Johnny Lee
Leslie Reeves - Billy Cook - Georgie Reeves - Ernie Reeves - Billy Etherington

Mr Robert Lord presents fuller entourage by revealing his grandfather Fred Glen Brooks played position of Villa goalkeeper.

1933 Huthwaite Villa FC1933

May 1933 presentation included twenty four miniature cups awarded to all players through the Knockout Cup, plus medals for a Nursing Cup. This further reveal names of some other players such as R Williams, W Collins, A Cooke, J Etherington, S Hunt and C Arrowsmith, while acknowledging W Griffiths club Captain.

Huthwaite Villa had no problems renewing Council authority to continue using the latest Huthwaite Park ground. As champions stepping up into division two for a 1933-34 season however, they struggled against more experienced opposition. Regular dance nights on behalf club funds long proved reliably successful when held in the Huthwaite Drill Hall. Favourable reports concerning pitch activities are currently found ending the next season. An annual dinner dated June 1935 is again hosted at the White Swan, where the club was presented with another three awards while announcing future intention to change league.

Medals had already been presented to the club as 1935 finalists in a Huthwaite Charity Cup. Players then also received miniature cups and medals from J R Wright and J Gelsthorpe. Ceremony further recognised Huthwaite Villa as runners up of the Nottinghamshire Combination first section, while topping that season by actually winning the Sutton and Skegby League Knockout Cup. The club had apparently been sporting two teams, but decided one was sufficient to next move into Division I of the Notts Combination league.

There'd been a notable change of players before electing officials for the forthcoming season. Gelsthorpe had been absent through serious illness, and T Allsop, S Marshall, E Reeves and A Flinders all tendered resignations. Chief goal scorer was named C Marshall. Officials acknowledged Mr E Walters resignation from assistant secretary through illness, and Mr S Herrod no longer felt able to fill committee duties.

Newly elected officials representing club interest to start next 1936 season are named filling positions of:- President = Councillor E H Lowe; chairman = M G Orridge; vice-presidents = J R Wright, J Gelsthorpe, G Dalton, J Slack, G Dobb and E Smith; treasurer = W H Cook; secretary = F Bostock; assistant secretary = G Reeves junior; financial secretary = I Parton; trainer = A Duffield; with a committee fully comprising = E Greatorex, W Collins, W Buckley, S Herrod, J Sheppard, C Booth, I Parton junior, C Wheeler, J Griffiths, T Key, H Wheeler, W Marriott and F Pearce.

09 Jun 12     by Gary Elliott       Updated 31 Mar 14